## Southern Africa 13(3) 30/4/76

The EEC on April 6th approved emergency economic aid totalling £13m. (25m. Units of Account) for countries in southern Africa directly affected by the recent Angolan war and the subsequent closing of their borders with Rhodesia.

The Dutch Foreign Minister, Mr. Max van der Stoel, said the beneficiaries would be Zaire, Zambia and Malawi, who are associated with the Community under the Lomé Convention. Angola and Mozambique could not benefit from the same sort of aid as they were not yet Community associates, Mr. van der Stoel said. But bilateral aid to the two countries from Britain, West Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium and